This forum has been archived. Please visit the new forum at https://community.narniaweb.com/

Christmas Music

The community lounge for non-Narnian discussions.

Moderators: stargazer, johobbit

Christmas Music

Postby aileth » Dec 11, 2014 8:33 pm

It seems that Christmas sneaks up every year, and takes me by surprise. Only 15 more days, announced the sign in the store yesterday. And you would think that I would be well-prepared--after all, as a music teacher, my students had to begin on special music well beforehand. So speaking of music...

Every year we like to try to find a new Christmas song that we haven't sung before. That usually leads us into the realm of Bach chorales or obscure old French melodies.

And then there's Handel's Messiah. Two years ago there was a sing-along version put together by a local music school; it was a blast, but they aren't doing it this year :(

So, do you tend to like old familiar pieces, the same every year, or do you like exploring new pieces?
What about lyrics vs. instrumental?
Is there a certain song or recording that you just have to play every year, or it wouldn't be Christmas at all?
Now my days are swifter than a post: they flee away ... my days are swifter than a weaver's shuttle
aileth
Peripatetic powder-room sub

Re: Christmas Music

Postby King_Erlian » Dec 12, 2014 5:09 am

In Britain, there's an album of Christmas pop hits (mostly from the '70s and '80s) that resurfaces every year and is played incessantly in every shop, pub and restaurant from the beginning of November onwards. You know Christmas is round the corner when you hear Noddy Holder of Slade screeching "It's CHRIIIIIS-MAAAAAS!" every half an hour or so.